Skip to main content

Welcome New and Returning Councillors

The Central Desert Shire is welcomes it new and returning Councillors. The nominations for council were announced on Friday 2nd March. In several wards the existing Councillors have been re-elected unopposed. The Councillors that will be standing for a second term are below:

Councillor Liz Bird is representing the Akityarre Ward. Cr Bird has been on Council since March 2011. She lives on Indiana Station with her husband and two children. Cr Bird is involved in a number of community organisations including Isolated Children’s Parents Association.
Councillor Louis Schaber represents the Akityarre Ward. Cr Schaber is a leader and well respected elder in the Atitjere region and lives at Mount Eaglebeak outstation. Cr Schaber was a founding Councillor and continues to bring his wealth of experience to the role.
Councillor Norbert Patrick represents the Northern Tanami Ward. Cr Patrick has been the Shire President since October 2009 and represents the Council on the Local Government Association (NT) executive. Cr Patrick was a member of the previous Lajamanu Community Council and is also a previous member of the Katherine West Health Board.
Councillor Adrian Dixon represents the Anmatjere Ward. Cr Dixon was a founding member of the Council and has been the Deputy Shire President since May 2010. Cr Dixon lives in Laramba where he was the chair of the previous Community Council. 
Councillor William Johnson represents the Northern Tanami Ward. Cr Johnson lives in Lajamanu, he was a founding Councillor with the Shire. Cr Johnson was the chair of the Lajamanu Community Council prior to joining the new Shire and will continue to advocate strongly for Lajamanu and the Council.

In the Southern Tanami Ward there were 6 nominations for 4 positions so that Ward will be the only one with an election this month. The nominations are (in ballot paper order):

  • Georgina Wilson
  • Dianne Martin
  • April Nangala Martin
  • Christopher Paulson
  • Jacob Spencer
  • Robert Robertson

The Council wishes all candidates the best of luck with the elections.