Skip to main content


Softball teams from all over Central Australia will converge on Ti Tree for the finals for the fourth annual Central Desert Shire Softball Championship on Saturday 30th of June.

The softball tournament brings teams from across the Central Desert Shire to compete for the prestigious Championship Trophy and a chance to play against the Territories’ best in the NT Softball Champions...

Check out the new look!

The Central Desert News has a new look but still the same great content.  Once again, the newsletter features stories from around the Shire.  The newsletter also launches the Celebrating Culture: Celebrating Country competition.

Celebrating Community: Celebrating Country

Do you have a story to tell or a photograph to share? The Central Desert Shire is calling for all amateur (or professional) photographers and budding authors to submit photographs and stories in our “Celebrating Community: Celebrating Country” competition.

The Central Desert Shire region is an area of unique culture and beautiful country. The...

There was a  Supplementary Election on Thursday 17 May 2012, to fill the 3 vacant positions in the Anmatjere Ward.

 The three (3) elected Ward Councillors are as follows (alphabetical order):

  • BIRD, Benedy;
  • GLENN, James;
  • TILMOUTH, Marlene.

At today's Council meeting, the Central Desert Shire Council elected Cr Adrian Dixon as the Council's new Shire President.  Outgoing Shire President, Cr Norbert Patrick, was elected as Deputy Shire President.  Cr Adrian Dixon thanked the outgoing Shire President, Cr Patrick for his support over the previous two years.  "I will work very hard to keep the Shire moving forward" Cr Dixon told Council. ...

Results from the NT Council Elections held on 24 March 2012 are as follows:


Ward Result
Akityarre Ward SCHABER, Louis (elected unopposed)
  BIRD, Liz (elected unopposed)
Anmatjere Ward DIXON, Adrian (elected unopposed)

The final results of the Local Government elections for Central Desert Shire Council and Macdonnell Shire Council will be confirmed at the declaration of polls which will take place at 10 a.m. Monday 2 April 2012 at the Central Desert Shire Council/Macdonnell Shire Council Chambers Office Gap Road.

The March 2012 newsletter is full of fun and showcases the wonderful talent presented as part of the Council's Concert in the Carpark.  Read about the Council's returning Councillors and check out the Council's very own People of Australia Ambassador.  There are stories from all around the Shire.  Click the link below to download and read the newsletter.

The Central Desert Shire is welcomes it new and returning Councillors. The nominations for council were announced on Friday 2nd March. In several wards the existing Councillors have been re-elected unopposed. The Councillors that will be standing for a second term are below:


On January 18th the Prime Minister Julia Gillard congratulated 40 Australians who have been recognised for their outstanding work in building strong and cohesive local communities.  Among those celebrated was Sascha McKell a Councillor and staff member in Yuendumu.

Ms McKell was selected after a nomination process where Australians were encouraged to nominate inspirational people who have helped...