Skip to main content

Community Safety

Council provides Community Safety Patrol services to:

  • Contribute to ensuring the safety of children and youth in the community by undertaking operations that are focussed on minimising the number of children on the streets after dark and assisting to maximise the number of children attending school.
  • Increase personal and community safety across rural and remote Indigenous communities.
  • Assist people at risk, including intoxicated people, juveniles, victims of violence and the homeless.

10 Community Safety Patrol services are operational in the following 9 locations:

  • Anmatjere Region (Nturiya, Pmara Jutunta, Wilora)
  • Atitjere
  • Engawala
  • Lajamanu (two patrols: a men’s and a women’s)
  • Laramba
  • Nyirripi
  • Yuelamu


All teams are supplied with vehicles, radios and uniforms, and received appropriate training in four wheel driving, occupational health and safety, numeracy and literacy, and team leadership.

Community safety patrols are committed to forming partnerships and empowering the local community. For example, Community Safety Patrol has started a partnership with Council's Community Development Program to deliver Youth Night Patrols in Lajamanu There are also plans to expand the initiative to count as a CDP activity, meaning more people from the community can get involved in making the community a safer and happier place. 

To find out more about the Community Safety Program contact Central Desert Regional Council on 08 8958 9500